A STRONG WIND WARNING IS CURRENT FOR WATERS OF TEMOTU PROVINCE. Vision and Mission – Solomon Islands Meteorological Services

Meteorological Division | Solomon Islands Government

Vision and Mission

Solomon Islands Meteorological Services

In 1985, a Meteorology Act was passed in the National Parliament and Solomon Islands Meteorological Services (SIMS) became a member of World Meteorological Organization on 06th May 1985. The Act makes provisions for the effective and proper administration of Meteorological Services to support economic development and the national interest of Solomon Islands to deal with other Meteorological related matters.

Currently, Solomon Islands Meteorological Services Division operates seven manned Met Stations, Six Automatic Weather Stations (AWS) and seven Automatic Rainfall Gauges (ARG) stations. The main operating office is located at Vavaya Ridge in Honiara.


Ensure safety of lives and protection of properties in Solomon Islands through effective management of Meteorological Service.


To modernize, strengthen and enhance the institutional and administrative capacity of Meteorological service division to provide a competency services to the people and the government of Solomon Islands for sustainable development and resilience communities.

Our website use cookies to improve and personalize your experience and to display advertisements(if any). Our website may also include cookies from third parties like Google Adsense, Google Analytics, Youtube. By using the website, you consent to the use of cookies. We have updated our Privacy Policy. Please click on the button to check our Privacy Policy.